[bookmark: _GoBack]	41:08:01:08.01.  Bobcat trapping and hunting season established -- Hunting restrictions -- Tagging requirements. The bobcat trapping and hunting season is open from sunrise on December 26 to sunset on February 15, inclusive, in all counties west of the Missouri River and from sunrise on December 26 to sunset on the third Sunday of January, inclusive, in Buffalo, Brule, Clay, Charles Mix, Bon Homme, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Union and Yankton Counties. Any trapper or hunter participating in the bobcat season east of the Missouri River is limited to one bobcat per trapper or hunter.

	A bobcat taken shall be presented to a conservation officer or wildlife damage specialist for registration and tagging of the pelt within 5 days of harvest. Additionally, once the season has closed, a person has 24 hours to notify a conservation officer or wildlife damage specialist of any untagged bobcats harvested during the season. The pelt shall be removed from the carcass and the carcass shall be surrendered to the conservation officer or wildlife damage specialist. After the pelt has been tagged, it shall be returned to the hunter or trapper. Upon request, the carcass may be returned to the hunter or trapper after the carcass has been inspected and the lower jaw has been removed. A person may only possess, purchase or sell raw bobcat pelts that are tagged through the eyeholes with the tag provided by the department.

	Source: 2 SDR 18, effective September 16, 1975; 3 SDR 22, effective September 23, 1976; 4 SDR 15, effective September 15, 1977; 6 SDR 14, effective August 23, 1979; 7 SDR 21, effective September 15, 1980; 8 SDR 19, effective August 31, 1981; 9 SDR 30, effective September 13, 1982; 10 SDR 76, 10 SDR 102, effective July 1, 1984; 11 SDR 30, effective August 30, 1984; 13 SDR 26, effective September 10, 1986; 14 SDR 40, effective September 23, 1987; 20 SDR 13, effective August 8, 1993; 22 SDR 16, effective August 15, 1995; 23 SDR 20, effective August 13, 1996; 24 SDR 16, effective August 13, 1997; 30 SDR 21, effective August 25, 2003; 38 SDR 8, effective August 3, 2011; 39 SDR 10, effective August 1, 2012; 40 SDR 29, effective August 20, 2013; 42 SDR 93, effective December 30, 2015.
	General Authority: SDCL 41-2-18(2)(17), 41-8-20.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 41-2-18(2)(17), 41-8-20.

