
8. Kinds of hearings required by various states regarding ballot measures, including identities of panel 
members, locations of hearings, how they are funded. (Soli, Viken, Reed) 

 
 
 Five states require public hearings for each initiated measure. They are as follows: 
 

1. Arizona: hearings are required in at least three counties as organized by the secretary of state prior to 
the election. The hearings include public testimony and include a fiscal impact presentation by the 
joint legislative budget committee staff. 

 
2. California: the legislature of California holds a hearing on measures to appear on the ballot at least 

30 days prior to the election. 
 

3. Colorado: designated representatives for each ballot measure must appear at the public hearing to be 
held by the Title Board. The Title Board is comprised of the secretary of state, attorney general, and 
the director of the office of legislative legal services (or their designees). Meetings are held on the first 
and third Wednesday of each month during which a ballot measure has been submitted for the 
Board’s consideration, with no meetings to occur following the last Wednesday of April of an 
election year. If either designated representative fails to appear at the public hearing, the measure is 
considered withdrawn. 
 

4. Massachusetts: initiated measures go to the legislature for their approval or rejection. The measure 
may not be amended by the legislature. 
 

5. Mississippi: the secretary of state conducts at least one public hearing in each congressional district 
for each measure to be placed on the ballot, providing at least 30 days notice prior to each public 
hearing. 


