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          South Dakota Legislative Research Council

                 Issue Memorandum 94-21

SAFETY BELT LAWS

Introduction

The mandatory use of seat belts in motor
vehicles has been an issue before the South
Dakota Legislature for the last decade.   All
attempts at such a safety  belt law had failed to
pass the Legislature, until this year.  This year's
attempt (Senate Bill 63) did pass the
Legislature and was signed by the Governor. 
However, a petition with sufficient signatures
was filed with the Secretary of  State in early
June to have this law referred to the November
general election.  The seat belt issue will now
be settled by a vote of the people.  This
memorandum briefly reviews the history
regarding safety  belt legislation in the state and
outlines the provisions of the pending seat belt
law.  This memorandum also contains
information which compares South Dakota's
proposed safety belt law to the safety belt laws
of the other states.

Background Information

With the exception of 1991, a bill to require the
front seat passenger use of seat belts had been
introduced every year in South Dakota since
1985.  The primary impetus for this legislation
in the beginning was  a U.S. Department of
Transportation rule adopted in 1984 which
would require automobile manufacturers to
install passive restraints--either air bags or
automatic seat belts--in new automobiles.  This
rule was adopted to reduce the number of
traffic deaths.  This rule, however, was subject

to withdrawal if states comprising at least two-
thirds of the nation's population passed a
mandatory safety belt law.  As a result, the
automobile industry promoted mandatory
safety belt legislation in state legislatures across
the nation,  including South Dakota.  By the
end of 1987, mandatory seat belt laws had been
passed in over thirty states; but, not in South
Dakota.

Congress then passed the Intermodal Surface
Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991.  Part of
that legislation required the secretary of the
U.S. Department of Transportation to adopt a
rule requiring automobile manufacturers to
install passive restraint systems.  This
legislation preempted the department's previous
actions.  Another part of that act provided a
penalty to those states which had not adopted a
safety belt law and a motorcycle helmet law. 
The penalty was a transfer of federal funds for
highway construction to highway safety
education programs.  For South Dakota this
meant, if such laws were not in effect by
September 30, 1993, one and one-half percent
(about $1.1 million) of construction funds were
to be transferred and, if such laws were not in
effect by September 30, 1994, three percent
(about $3 million) of construction funds were
to be transferred.  This penalty served as the
impetus for further seat belt legislation,
including legislation introduced on behalf of the
Governor in 1992 and 1993.  
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Requirements of the Safety Belt Law

The safety belt law approved by the 1994
Legislature in Senate Bill 63 requires every
operator and front seat passenger of a
passenger vehicle operated on a public highway
to wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat
belt when the vehicle is moving forward.  The
legislation also requires the driver to see that
all front seat passengers under age of eighteen
are wearing a seat belt or are in a child
passenger restraint system. A passenger vehicle
as defined by the law includes passenger cars,
station wagons, vans, taxicabs, emergency
vehicles, motor homes, trucks, and pickups. 
The term does not include motorcycles, motor
bikes, passenger buses, school buses, or farm
tractors and implements of husbandry used
primarily for agricultural operations.  

Thirty-six states are like South Dakota in
requiring the driver and front seat passengers
to fasten their seat belts.  Eleven states,
including the states of Montana and Wisconsin,
require all passengers to fasten their seat belts. 
Only the states of Maine and New Hampshire
do not have laws or laws pending to require the
use of seat belts.

Information regarding the vehicles and the
seats covered by the law for all the states which
have a safety belt law is contained in the
enclosed table. 

Exemptions from the Safety Belt Law

South Dakota's safety belt law would not apply
to the following:

< The occupant of a vehicle manufactured
before September 1, 1973;

< The occupant of a vehicle who
possesses a written statement from a
doctor that the person is unable for
medical reasons to wear a seat belt;

< The occupant of a vehicle not equipped
with seat belts because federal law does not
require the vehicle to have seat belts; or

< Any rural carrier of the United States
postal service while delivering mail and any
person delivering newspapers and
periodicals on a home delivery route.

These provisions are very similar to exemptions
found in the other states.  Many states, including
Iowa and Minnesota, have a specific exemption for
a person who is actively engaged in work that
requires the person to alight from and reenter the
vehicle at frequent intervals, if the vehicle does not
exceed twenty-five miles per hour between stops. 
That exemption would cover more occupations
than South Dakota's law covers.  Minnesota also
exempts persons driving or riding in a pickup truck
while engaged in normal farming work or activity.

Enforcement 

Enforcement of the safety belt law in South Dakota
is to be accomplished as a secondary action.  This
means a person has to be pulled over for an
unrelated violation before the person can be cited
for not using a seat belt.  Thirty-eight other states
also have secondary enforcement of their safety
belt laws.  In nine states it is considered a primary
violation and a motorist can be specifically pulled
over and cited for not using a seat belt.  The states
of Iowa and Wisconsin are two states in South
Dakota's region where a violation is a primary
violation.
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State Effective Date Enforcement Fine Seats Vehicle and Coverage by Law
Alabama July 18, 1991 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car front model year 1965.

Alaska September 12, 1990 Secondary $15 All Motor vehicle. Over age 16.

Arizona January 1, 1991 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car and van  from model year 1972.

Arkansas July 15, 1991 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car, truck, and van.

California January 1, 1986 Primary $20 All Passenger car, van, and small truck.

Colorado July 7, 1987 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car, van, taxi, ambulance, RV, and small truck.

Connecticut January 1, 1986 Primary $37 Front Passenger car, van, and truck.

Delaware January 1, 1992 Secondary $20 Front Passenger car.

Florida July 1, 1986 Secondary $20 Front Motor vehicle and pickup truck.

Georgia September 1, 1988 Secondary $15 Front Passenger car to carry under 10 people.

Hawaii December 16, 1985 Primary $20 Front Vehicle registered in state.

Idaho July 1, 1986 Secondary $5 Front Motor vehicle under  8 thousand pounds.

Illinois July 1, 1985 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle to carry  under 10 people and RV.

Indiana July 1, 1987 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car, bus, and school bus.

Iowa July 1, 1986 Primary $10 Front Passenger car, van, and truck 10 thousand pounds or less. 

Kansas July 1, 1986 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car and van.

Kentucky July 13, 1994 Secondary $25 All Motor vehicles from model year 1965.

Louisiana July 1, 1986 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car, van, and truck under 6 thousand pounds.

Maryland July 1, 1986 Secondary $25 Front Passenger/multi-purpose vehicle, truck, tractor, and bus.

Massachusetts February 1, 1994 Secondary $25 All Passenger car, van, and truck.

Michigan July 1, 1985 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle.

Minnesota August 1, 1986 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car, pickup truck, van, and RV.

Mississippi March 20, 1990 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car and van.

Missouri September 28, 1985 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car to carry under 10 people.

Montana October 1, 1987 Secondary $20 All Motor vehicle.

Nebraska January 1, 1993 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle.

Nevada July 1, 1987 Secondary $25 All Passenger car under 6 thousand pounds.

New Jersey March 1, 1985 Secondary $20 Front Passenger car.

New Mexico January 1, 1986 Primary $25 Front Motor vehicle under 10 thousand pounds.  Over age 16.

New York December 1, 1984 Primary $50 Front Passenger car.

North Carolina October 1, 1985 Primary $25 Front Passenger motor vehicle to carry  under 10 people.

North Dakota July 14, 1994 Secondary $20 Front Motor vehicle.

Ohio May 6, 1986 Secondary $20 Front Passenger/commercial car, van, tractor, and truck.

Oklahoma February 1, 1987 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car, van, and pickup truck.



Page 4 August 4, 1994

Oregon December 7, 1990 Primary $50 All Passenger car.

Pennsylvania November 23, 1987 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car, truck, and motor home.

Rhode Island June 18, 1991 Secondary No All Passenger car.  Over age 12.

South Carolina July 1, 1989 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car, van, truck, RV and taxi.

South Dakota* January 1, 1995 Secondary $20 Front Passenger car, van, truck, RV and taxi.

Tennessee April 21, 1986 Secondary $25 Front Vehicle under 8.5 thousand pounds.

Texas September 1, 1985 Primary $25 Front Passenger car, van, and certain  trucks.

Utah April 28, 1986 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle.

Vermont January 1, 1994 Secondary $10 All Passenger car.

Virginia January 1, 1988 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle.

Washington June 11, 1986 Secondary $25 All Passenger/multi-purpose vehicle, bus, and truck.

West Virginia September 1, 1993 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car.  Age 18 and under in rear seat.

Wisconsin December 1, 1987 Secondary $10 All Motor vehicle.

Wyoming June 8, 1989 Secondary No Front Passenger car, van, and pickup truck.

* Suspended pending November 8, 1994, general election                                                  Source:  National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Penalties

A violation of the requirement to wear a seat belt
in South Dakota will be a petty offense beginning
January 1, 1995, if the law is approved in
November.  A petty offense is a twenty-dollar
fine.   Fines in other states range from five dollars
in Idaho to fifty dollars in the states of New York
and Oregon.  The states of Rhode Island and
Wyoming have no fines for a violation.  In
Wyoming the fines for all motor vehicle
violations are reduced by five dollars if the officer
notes that the person had compiled with the seat
belt law.

A violation will not be considered a moving

traffic offense in this state and will not count as
points against a person's driving record.  Similar
provisions are found in most other states,
especially the states where enforcement is a
secondary action.

The enclosed table shows the fines imposed by
the various states and whether the enforcement of
the state's safety belt law is a primary or a
secondary action.

Conclusion

The safety belt law which was approved by the
1994 Legislature and the Governor and will be
before the people in November is very similar to
laws already adopted in forty-seven other states. 
The law only applies to the driver and the front
seat passengers of a passenger vehicle.
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Enforcement of the law must be a secondary
action and the penalty will be twenty dollars. 
Even if the safety belt law is approved in
November, the state faces the transfer of three

percent of its federal highway construction funds
to highway safety education programs each year
until the state adopts a motorcycle helmet law.

This issue memorandum was written by David L. Ortbahn, Principal Research Analyst
for the Legislative Research Council.  It is designed to supply background information on the
subject and is not a policy statement made by the Legislative Research Council.


