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Issue Memorandum 99-04 
 
 

 
 

MOTOR VEHICLE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILTY  
 
Since 1927 states have been trying to 
find a solution to the problem of motorists 
who do not maintain adequate financial 
responsibility. That was the year 
Massachusetts became the first state to 
require the purchase of motor vehicle 
liability insurance.  Since then, all other 
states have adopted some form of 
financial responsibility law to try to 
address the problem.  Despite these 
laws, there are still uninsured motorists, 
uninsured motorists continue to be 
involved in accidents, and victims of 
uninsured motorists continue to go 
uncompensated. This has resulted in a 
number of attempts in recent years to try 
to improve South Dakota’s motor vehicle 
financial responsibility law. These 
attempts have prompted questions about 
what other states are doing. This issue 
memorandum will review South Dakota’s 
law and examine what other states have 
been doing to try to solve the problem of 
uninsured motorists. 
 
South Dakota’s Financial 
Responsibility Law 
 
Since January 1, 1987, all drivers and 
owners of motor vehicles in South Dakota 
have been required to be financially 
responsible before driving any motor 
vehicle that is required to be licensed. A 
person can maintain financial 
responsibility by one of four methods.  
 
(1) Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance – 

Liability insurance pays the other 
driver’s medical, vehicle repair, and 

other costs when a person is at fault in 
a motor vehicle accident. This is the 
primary method of maintaining 
financial responsibility in the state. 
The law requires an owner’s policy of 
liability insurance with at least the 
minimum coverage of $25,000 for 
bodily injury to or death of one person 
in an accident, $50,000 for bodily 
injury to or death of two or more 
persons in an accident, and $25,000 
because of damage to or destruction 
of property in an accident. These 
minimum requirements have not 
changed since 1985 and are 
comparable to minimum requirements 
set in other states. 

 
(2) Bond – The law allows a person to file 

a bond with the Department of 
Commerce and Regulation. The bond 
must be from a surety company 
authorized to transact business in the 
state and be conditioned for payment 
of at least the same minimum 
amounts as liability insurance. This 
method of maintaining financial 
responsibility is not being used. 

 
(3) Certificate of Deposit – The law allows 

a person to deposit with the State 
Treasurer a certificate of deposit or 
securities in the amount of fifty 
thousand dollars. The treasurer, upon 
receiving such a deposit, issues to the 
person a certificate as proof of 
financial responsibility. Two persons 
are currently using this method. 
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(4) Certificate of Self-insurance – Finally, 
the law allows a person to have a 
certificate of self-insurance issued by 
the Department of Commerce and 
Regulation. The certificate must be 
supplemented by an agreement by the 
self-insured that the self-insured will 
pay, with respect to any accidents, the 
same amounts that an insurer would 
have been obligated to pay under a 
motor vehicle liability policy.  Large 
companies with a number of vehicles 
operating in the state have used this 
method to maintain financial 
responsibility. Currently, four 
companies are self-insuring. 

 
Enforcement of South Dakota’s Law 
 
Every driver of a licensed motor vehicle 
must provide evidence of financial 
responsibility upon being involved in a 
reportable traffic accident or being 
detained for a suspected driving violation. 
The driver is required to provide written 
evidence upon the request of a law 
enforcement officer. However, a law 
enforcement officer may not stop a driver 
just to check for proof of financial 
responsibility. The officer may only check 
for compliance with the financial 
responsibility law if there has been an 
accident or if the driver of the vehicle has 
been stopped for some other offense. 
The written evidence may be a copy of an 
insurance policy or bond, a certificate of 
self-insurance or of maintaining a deposit 
with the state treasurer, or an insurance 
identification card. An identification card 
must contain the insurance policy 
number, name of insurer, the effective 
date of coverage, and the date of 
expiration. If a driver cannot produce 
such written evidence, the law 
enforcement officer may issue the driver 
a citation for failure to maintain financial 
responsibility. 
 
 

If, for whatever reason, a driver does not 
have written proof of financial 
responsibility and is cited for a violation, 
the law permits the driver to submit, 
personally or by mail, to the court written 
evidence that the driver was in 
compliance with the law at the time of the 
citation. If the court finds the written 
evidence to be acceptable, the law 
requires that further proceedings on the 
charge be dismissed. 
 
Since 1987 there has been an average of 
just over 14,000 citations a year for failure 
to maintain financial responsibility.  In 
fiscal year 1998, there were 15,256 
citations for failure to maintain financial 
responsibility.  There were also 11,483 
dismissals.  In fiscal year 1998, just over 
3,600 persons pled guilty or were 
convicted at trial for failure to maintain 
financial responsibility.  This was down a 
bit from previous years when about 4,200 
persons a year pled guilty or were 
convicted for this violation. 
 
A person guilty of failure to maintain 
financial responsibility is subject to the 
penalties of a Class 2 misdemeanor and 
a suspension of his or her driver’s license 
for a period of not less than thirty days.  
The suspension of license could go up to 
a year.  A guilty person is required to 
appear in court and the sentences have 
varied on a case-by-case basis.  
However, a typical penalty for a first-time 
offense has been a fifty-dollar fine and a 
thirty-day driver’s license suspension. 
The law does give the court authority to 
issue a work permit to the person during 
the suspension if the person establishes 
“proof of financial responsibility for the 
future.”  This can be done by one of the 
four methods to prove financial 
responsibility.  The difference being that 
“proof of financial responsibility for the 
future” must be maintained for a period of 
three years. Failure to maintain this will 
result in the Department of Commerce 
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and Regulation suspending a person’s 
driver’s license and the person’s motor 
vehicle registration. 
 
If a person chooses to maintain “proof of 
financial responsibility for the future” 
through the use of a motor vehicle liability 
insurance policy, the insurance is more 
costly because the insurance company is 
required by law to notify the Department 
of Commerce and Regulation any time 
the policy is cancelled or not renewed.  
 
Motor Vehicle Liability Laws in Other 
States 
 
All states have laws that set the minimum 
amounts of insurance or other financial 
security drivers must have to pay off the 
effects of their negligence if an accident 
occurs.  Most states also have laws 
requiring drivers to have auto liability 
insurance before they can legally drive a 
motor vehicle. These various liability laws 
can be divided into five types. 
 
(1) Financial Responsibility – These laws 

establish minimum requirements of 
financial responsibility in terms of 
amounts applicable to death or injury 
of one person, death or injury of more 
than one person, and property 
damage (for example: South Dakota’s 
25,000/50,000/25,000). Financial 
responsibility laws can be further 
divided into security-type laws and 
future-proof type laws.  The security-
type laws require that, following report 
of an accident, each driver or owner of 
the vehicles involved show his or her 
ability to pay damages that may be 
charged in subsequent litigation or 
negotiation arising out of the accident.  
The future-proof type laws require a 
similar showing of financial 
responsibility be made by persons 
who have been convicted on certain 
serious traffic offenses or have failed 
to pay a judgment against them for 

damages arising out of an accident. 
South Dakota had a security-type law 
prior to 1987. South Dakota also has 
maintained a future-proof type law for 
persons wishing to drive after a 
conviction of certain serious traffic 
offenses, after a judgment resulting 
from a traffic accident, or after a 
conviction for failure to maintain 
financial responsibility.  Alabama, 
Mississippi, New Hampshire, 
Tennessee, and Wisconsin are states 
that have only a financial responsibility 
type law. 

 
(2) Compulsory Insurance – Compulsory 

insurance laws require that a motorist 
maintain financial responsibility at all 
times. Liability insurance covering 
bodily injury, property damage, or both 
is required. Forty-five states, including 
South Dakota, have this type of law.  

 
(3) No-fault Insurance – Under no-fault 

insurance, the owner of a vehicle 
looks to the owner’s own insurance 
company for reimbursement for 
damage sustained in an accident 
rather than having to go to court and 
prove that the other party caused the 
accident. These laws provide some 
relief from the problem of uninsured 
motorists. Under this insurance, 
accident victims can collect benefits 
from their own insurance companies, 
regardless of whether the other party 
has insurance. Most no-fault laws are 
compulsory and cover only bodily 
injury and not vehicle damage.  
Minnesota and North Dakota are 
neighboring states with compulsory 
no-fault insurance. 

 
(4) Unsatisfied Judgment Funds – A few 

states have experimented with state-
operated funds to provide a source of 
funds for accident victims when the at-
fault party has no means of paying a 
judgment. However, the legal 
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procedures for releasing the funds 
and the restrictions on the kinds of 
cases that qualify have limited the 
effectiveness of these funds. North 
Dakota has such a fund that has been 
functioning for a number of years and 
is supported by an annual one-dollar 
fee on all motor vehicles. Establishing 
such a fund in South Dakota has been 
proposed and discussed in the past 
but has not been adopted. 

 
(5) Uninsured and Underinsured 

Motorists – These laws generally 
require insurance companies to offer, 
as part of their basic liability policy, 
coverage against potential damage by 
motorists who are not insured.  These 
laws, while doing nothing to reduce 
the number of uninsured motorists, do 
provide a way for individual drivers to 
deal with the financial consequences 
of accidents with hit-and-run or 
uninsured drivers. Nineteen states, 
including South Dakota, require 
uninsured motorist coverage. In other 
states, insurers are required to offer 
the coverage but the insured does not 
have to purchase it. A handful of 
states, including South Dakota, 
require underinsured motorist 
coverage as part of a liability policy.   

 
The attached chart, compiled by the 
Insurance Information Institute, provides 
a state-by-state overview of minimum 
auto liability limits and the measures used 
to enforce compulsory liability laws. For 
each state the insurance required by 
state law is listed.  
 
The chart indicates when persons are 
required to produce evidence of 
insurance or financial responsibility in the 
various states. Eighteen states require a 
person to produce evidence of insurance 
upon the registration of the vehicle. A few 
states like Montana and Oregon require a 
person to certify that a vehicle is covered 

by liability insurance at the time of 
registering the vehicle rather than 
produce evidence. Thirty-one states, 
including South Dakota, require an 
insured to provide evidence of insurance 
at the time of an accident or when a 
vehicle is stopped for a traffic violation.  
Thirty states, including South Dakota, 
require evidence of insurance to be 
maintained at all times in the vehicle. 
 
States have required that insurance 
companies assist in the enforcement of 
these mandatory laws.  At least fifteen 
states require insurance companies to 
notify the state if a person cancels or 
does not renew an insurance policy.  
Upon such a notification, the state warns 
the person that coverage must be 
maintained.  In a handful of states, 
insurance companies are asked to verify 
the existence of insurance at the time a 
specific accident occurred. In just over 
ten states insurers are given lists of 
randomly selected auto registrations or 
lists of motorists involved in accidents 
and asked to verify the existence of 
insurance.  Nine states require an insurer 
to submit its entire list of automobile 
liability policies to the state so the state 
can use the lists to verify registration 
applicant’s declarations that insurance is 
in effect. These various requirements can 
become costly for the states and for 
insurance companies to administer. 
 
Penalties for not complying with 
compulsory liability laws include fines, jail 
time, license or registration revocation, 
confiscation of license plates and, in 
Florida and Louisiana, vehicle 
impounding.  It is interesting to note that, 
while Florida and Louisiana have very 
stringent enforcement policies, their 
minimum liability coverages (10/20/10) 
are among the lowest in the nation. 
Seventeen states revoke or suspend 
drivers’ licenses and 18 revoke or 
suspend vehicle registrations. At least 
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eight states confiscate license plates if a 
person cannot provide proof of insurance. 
Four states have used roadblocks to 
identify uninsured drivers and to inform 
drivers of the increased odds of getting 
caught.  
 
The wide variety of motor vehicle financial 
responsibility laws suggests that there is 
no ideal solution to the problem of 
uninsured motorists. Each type of law has 
its strengths and pitfalls and no matter the 
type of law each state still has its share of 
uninsured motorists. Insurers and 
regulators have tried to determine the 
number of uninsured drivers but there is a 
wide range of estimates depending on 
what method is used to collect data. The 
Insurance Information Institute estimates 
that 17 percent of Americans drive 
without insurance. In New Hampshire, a 
state that does not have a compulsory 
insurance law, a study was conducted to 
assess the need for compulsory auto 
insurance and determined that 9.5 
percent of the drivers were uninsured.  
On the other hand, North Carolina, which 
has a compulsory insurance law and one 
of the strictest and swiftest enforcement 
programs, still had at least 3.4 percent of 
its drivers uninsured according to the 
National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. These two states have 
vastly different laws yet have uninsured 

motorist numbers below what might 
normally be expected. 
 
Opponents to compulsory laws continue 
to maintain that these laws cannot be 
enforced well enough to remove 
uninsured drivers from the road, are 
costly to administer, and result in 
increased insurance premiums for 
responsible drivers. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Financial responsibility laws, compulsory 
insurance laws, no-fault insurance laws, 
laws establishing unsatisfied judgment 
funds, and laws mandating uninsured and 
underinsured motorists coverage are 
among the various types of laws which 
have been established by the states in an 
attempt to solve the problems caused by 
uninsured motorists. Some laws are more 
costly to administer than others. The 
cooperation of the insurance and motor 
vehicle departments in each state, 
insurers, and state and local law 
enforcement agencies is an important 
factor in the effectiveness of any type of 
law. Nevertheless, despite the type of law 
or combination of laws and the level of 
enforcement of those laws, there appears 
to be no perfect solution to the problem of 
uninsured motorists. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This issue memorandum was written by David L. Ortbahn, 
Principal Research Analyst for the Legislative Research Council.  It is 
designed to supply background information on the subject and is not 
a policy statement made by the Legislative Research Council. 
 



 

ENFORCEMENT OF COMPULSORY AUTO LIABILITY INSURANCE LAWS 
 

 Insured Required to Produce Insurer  
  Minimum  Evidence of Insurance (c) at:       Verification Penalties for 
 Insurance Liability Regis- Time of All Times of Insurance Non-Compliance 
State Required (a) Limits (b) tration Accident in Vehicle (See Footnote e) (First Offense) 
 
AL FR only 20/40/10 No No (d) No None None 
 
AK BI & PD Liab 50/100/25 No No (d) No 2 Registration suspension/ 
       revocation (f) 
 
AZ BI & PD Liab 15/30/10 No (h) Yes Yes 1,2,4 $250 fine 
 
AR BI & PD Liab 25/50/15 Yes No No None $250 fine; registration 
       suspension, confiscation 
       of plates (f) 
 
CA BI & PD Liab 15/30/5 Yes Yes Yes 2 $1,350 fine 
 
CO BI & PD Liab, 25/50/15 No Yes No 4 (j) $100 fine 
 PIP 
 
CT BI & PD Liab, 20/40/10 Yes Yes Yes 1,4 Registration/license 
 UM, UIM      suspension/revocation, 
       confiscation of plates, 
       vehicle impoundment, 
       $110-$250 fine 
 
DE BI & PD Liab, 15/30/10 No Yes Yes 3 $150 fine; registration 
 PIP      suspension, confiscation 
       of plates (f) 
 
DC BI & PD Liab, 25/50/10 Yes No No 1,3 $100 fine or maximum 30 
 UM      days in jail 
 
FL PD Liab, PIP 10/20/10 Yes Yes Yes 1,4 60-day license revocation, 
       vehicle impoundment for 
       subsequent offense, confis- 
       cation of  plates in Dade, 
       Broward, and Hillsborough 
       counties (f) 
 
GA BI & PD Liab 15/30/10 No Yes Yes 1 60-day license suspension 
 
HI BI & PD Liab, 20/40/10 No Yes Yes None $1,000 fine 
 PIP 
 
ID BI & PD Liab 25/50/15 No  Yes Yes 3 $75 fine (f) 
 
IL BI & PD Liab, 20/40/15 No Yes Yes 3 60-day registration 
 UM      suspension (f) 
 
IN BI & PD Liab 25/50/10 Yes No No 2 90-day license suspension, 
       $150 reinstatement fee 
 
IA BI & PD Liab 20/40/15 No  Yes Yes None $100 fine 
 
KS BI & PD Liab, 25/50/10 No No No 2 $100 fine (f) 
 PIP, UM 
 
KY BI & PD Liab, 25/50/10 Yes Yes Yes 1 $50 fine, up to 90 days in 
 PIP      jail (f) 
 
LA BI & PD Liab 10/20/10 Yes No (d) No  1,4 Up to $500 fine, confisca- 
       tion of plates (f), vehicle  
       impoundment 



 

 Insured Required to Produce Insurer  
  Minimum  Evidence of Insurance (c) at:       Verification Penalties for 
 Insurance Liability Regis- Time of All Times of Insurance Non-Compliance 
State Required (a) Limits (b) tration Accident in Vehicle (See Footnote e) (First Offense) 
 
ME BI & PD Liab, 50/100/25 No Yes Yes None $100-$500 fine, 30-day 
 UM      license and registration 
       suspension 
 
MD BI & PD Liab, 20/40/10 Yes No No 1,3 $150 fine (f) 
 PIP (g), UM 
 
MA BI & PD Liab, 20/40/5 Yes No No 1 $500 fine (f) 
 PIP, UM 
 
MI BI & PD Liab, 20/40/10 Yes No No None $200 fine (f) 
 PIP 
 
MN BI & PD Liab, 30/60/10 No Yes Yes 1,3 License and/or registration 
 PIP, UM, UIM      revocation for 6 months (f) 
 
MS FR only 10/20/5 No No No None None 
 
MO BI & PD Liab 25/50/10 Yes Yes Yes 3 License and registration 
       revocation (f) 
 
MT BI & PD Liab 25/50/10 No Yes Yes None $250 fine or not more than 
       10 days in Jail (f) 
 
NE BI & PD Liab 25/50/25 Yes Yes Yes None $500 fine (f), license and 
       registration suspension 
 
NV BI & PD Liab 15/30/10 No Yes Yes 4 $100 fine (f) 
 
NH FR only 25/50/25 No No (d) No None None 
 
NJ BI & PD Liab, 15/30/5 No Yes Yes 1,4 $300 fine, community  
 PIP, UM      service, 1-year license 
       suspension 
 
NM BI & PD Liab 25/50/10 Yes No No 3 $100 fine (f) 
 
NY BI & PD Liab, 25/50/10* Yes Yes Yes 4 (i) 1-year license revocation 
 PIP, UM 
 
NC BI & PD Liab 25/50/15 No No No 1,4 60-day registration 
       suspension (f) 
 
ND BI & PD Liab, 25/50/25 No  No (d) No None $150 fine, registration  
 PIP, UM      revocation, license sus- 
       pension (f) 
 
OH BI & PD Liab 12.5/25/7.5 No Yes Yes None 90-day license suspension, 
       $75 reinstatement fee 
 
OK BI & PD Liab 10/20/10 Yes Yes Yes 1 Less than $500 fine, less 
       than 6 months jail (f) 
 
OR BI & PD Liab, 25/50/10 No Yes Yes 3 License suspension and/or 
 PIP, UM      revocation (f) 
 
PA BI & PD Liab, 15/30/5 No Yes Yes 1 License and registration  
 Med      suspension, confiscation of 
       plates (f) 
 
RI BI & PD Liab 25/50/25 No No No 3 $500 fine, confiscation of 
 UM      plates 
 



 

 Insured Required to Produce Insurer  
  Minimum  Evidence of Insurance (c) at:       Verification Penalties for 
 Insurance Liability Regis- Time of All Times of Insurance Non-Compliance 
State Required (a) Limits (b) tration Accident in Vehicle (See Footnote e) (First Offense) 
 
SC BI & PD Liab, 15/30/5 Yes Yes Yes 1,3 Less than 30 days jail, 
 UM      registration suspension (f) 
 
SD BI & PD Liab, 25/50/25 No Yes Yes None 1-year license suspen- 
 UM, UIM      sion (f) 
 
TN FR only 25/50/10 No No No None None 
 
TX BI & PD Liab 20/40/15 Yes Yes No None $75 fine; license and 
       registration suspension (f) 
 
UT BI & PD Liab, 25/50/15 No Yes Yes 4 License and/or registra- 
 PIP      tion loss (f) 
 
VT BI & PD Liab, 25/50/10 No Yes Yes None Less than $100 fine (f) 
 UM, UIM 
 
VA BI & PR Liab, 25/50/20 No No No 2,3 None 
 UM 
 
WA BI & PD Liab 25/50/10 No No No None $480 fine 
 
WV BI & PD Liab, 20/40/10 Yes Yes Yes 1 90-day license suspension, 
 UM      registration revocation (f) 
 
WI FR only, UM 25/50/10 No No No None License and/or registration 
       revocation (f) 
 
WY BI & PD Liab 25/50/20 No Yes Yes None $250-$750 fine 
 
 
 
 
 
FOOTNOTES 
 
 
(a) FR - Financial responsibility only. Insurance not compulsory. 
 Compulsory Coverages: 
  BI Liab - Bodily injury liability PD Liab - Property damage liability PIP (Personal Injury Protection) Mandatory 
  UM - Uninsured motorist PD - Physical Damage  in No-Fault states. Includes medical, rehabili- 
  Med - First party (policyholder) UIM - Underinsured motorist tation, loss of earnings and funeral expenses. 
  medical expenses     In some state PIP includes essential services 
       (such as child care). 
(b) The first two numbers refer to bodily injury liability limits and the third number to property liability, For example, 20/40/10 

means coverage up to $40,000 for all persons injured in an accident, subject to a limit of $20,000 for one individual, and 
$10,000 coverage for property damage. 

(c) Evidence is proof of valid insurance. The form of evidence varies by state and may take the form of an insurance policy, 
binder, certificate of self-insurance, surety bonds, or certificate of deposit. Many states require insurance identification cards 
issued by the insurer. Self-certification, where the driver is required to identify the insurer and policy number in writing 
rather than in person, is not included. 

(d) Insured must provide evidence of insurance at some point after the accident to the Department of Insurance, other state 
agency, or law enforcement officer. Deadlines vary among the states. 

(e) 1. Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. 
 2. Insurer must verify financial responsibility or insurance after an accident or arrest. 
 3. Insurer must verify randomly selected insurance policies upon request. 
 4. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also 

known as a computer data law. 
(f) Penalties are provided for in the law but may not be mandatory for first offenses. 
(g) May be waived for the policyholder but is compulsory for passengers. 



 

(h) Proof of insurance must be presented within 30 days of reghistration. 
(i) Pilot program; full program effective January 1, 2000. 
(j) Law enacted but not implemented due to administration problems. 
 
*50/100 if injury results in death. 
 
Insurance Information Institute, 12/98 
Sources: Alliance of American Insurers, American Insurance Association, National Association of Independent Insurers, state 
departments of insurance and motor vehicles 
 

 


