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Issue Memorandum 99-09 
 
 

 
RESTRICTIONS ON THE DRIVING PRIVILEGES OF THE ELDERLY  

 
 

Each year there are a few motor vehicle 
accidents in South Dakota that involve a 
driver of advanced age and that 
unfortunately result in a fatality or serious 
injury.  If the older driver is found to be at 
fault in such a case, this can result in 
inquiries by concerned constituents as to 
whether there should be a law to require 
more frequent testing of older drivers or 
inquiries as to what other states have 
done to make sure older drivers are 
physically able to operate a motor 
vehicle. This memorandum will attempt to 
provide some facts regarding older 
drivers and summarize what other states 
have done to restrict the driving privileges 
of the elderly. 
 
Background Statistics 
 
Nationally, persons age 65 and older 
currently represent 13 percent of the 
population and it is estimated by the 
National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA) that this age 
group by the year 2030 will represent 
about 20 percent of the country’s 
population. With persons working and 
living longer, this means older persons 
will be driving the nation’s highways in 
much greater numbers.  In 1990, South 
Dakota’s percent of persons age 65 and 
over was about 15 percent of the 
population. In 1998 this age group 
represented 16.6 percent of all licensed 
drivers in the state.  
 
Nationwide older drivers have fewer 
crashes than any other age group. In 

South Dakota this has been especially 
true. In 1998, while 16.6 percent of the 
drivers were age 65 and over, only 9.3 
percent of the drivers involved in all 
accidents, 8.8 percent of the drivers 
involved in injury accidents, and 13.1 
percent of the drivers involved in fatal 
accidents were from this older age group. 
These percentages have remained pretty 
constant for this decade. 
 
However, this older age group drives less 
than any other age group. The American 
Association of Retired Persons (AARP) 
estimates that a 65-year-old person 
typically drives half as many miles as a 
35-year-old person. When the number of 
miles driven is taken into consideration, 
older persons have a higher rate of 
crashes per mile driven than any other 
age group. For the United States, the 
crash rate for actual miles driven for 
people over 75 is almost four times that of 
other drivers. Teenagers rank second.  
 
Older people are more susceptible than 
younger people to medical complications 
following motor vehicle crash injuries. 
Consequently, older persons are more 
likely to die from their injuries. According 
to the Insurance Institute for Highway 
Safety, the age group of 75 years of age 
and older has more motor vehicle deaths 
per 100,000 than other groups except 
people younger than 25 and, per mile 
driven, this older age has a higher rate of 
fatal motor vehicle crashes than drivers in 
other age groups except teenagers.
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Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety 
 

In 1998, according to NHTSA, most fatal 
crashes involving older drivers occurred 
during the daytime (82 percent), on 
weekdays (72 percent), and involved 
another vehicle (75 percent). In two-
vehicle fatal crashes involving an older 
driver and a younger driver, the vehicle 
driven by the older person was more than 
3 times as likely to be the one that was 
struck (59 percent and 17 percent, 
respectively).  In 42 percent of these 
crashes, both vehicles were proceeding 
straight at the time of the collision. In 28 
percent, the older driver was turning left–
8 times as often as the younger driver. In 
addition, according to the Insurance 
Institute for Highway Safety, about half of 
the fatal crashes involving drivers 80 
years and older occur at intersections and 
involve more than one vehicle. This 
compares with 23 percent among drivers 
up to age 50. 
 

Driver Requirements Based on Age 
 
Although these statistics suggest a link 
between age-related functional limitations 
and driving performance, researchers 
have yet to determine specifically how 
these limitations affect driver 
performance. Physical and mental 
conditions that have been shown to 
interfere with driving functions include 
vision impairments, early stages of 
dementia, and acute or chronic illnesses 
requiring prescription drugs that may 
reduce alertness and reaction time. The 
state of Maryland is currently working with 
NHSTA on a study to measure older 
drivers’ agility, memory, and vision, and 
to test the effects each has on driving 
ability. The Maryland study will evaluate 
various screening and assessment 
techniques that might be used by states 
to identify elderly drivers who, because of 
age-related changes, pose an increased 
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risk of being involved in a fatal crash. The 
results of that study should be known 
soon. Better knowledge in this area 
should enable states to base driver 
licensing more on driver performance 
than on age alone. 
 
Driving is an important privilege for this 
state's elderly citizens. The ability to drive 
by older citizens is important to them in 
meeting basic needs, such as obtaining 
food and medical services. Especially in 
rural communities where there is no 
public transportation available, the loss of 
driving privileges often means the loss of 
independence and a reduction in a 
person's quality of life. 
 
In South Dakota elderly drivers are 
treated the same as all other drivers 
when it comes to the issuance and 
renewal of a driver’s license. Driver’s 
licenses are valid for five years. Upon a 
renewal, each driver is required to submit 
to an examination of his or her eyesight.  
 
There have been attempts in the South 
Dakota Legislature in the recent past to 
require older drivers to submit to driver’s 
license renewal more often than younger 
drivers. These attempts have failed 
primarily because the accident statistics 
of this state do not indicate that elderly 
drivers pose a greater risk on highways 
than do younger drivers. Another 
argument used against these attempts, 
especially by the AARP, has been that 
older persons who are good drivers 
should not be discriminated against 
based on age. They contend that safe 
driving does not automatically deteriorate 
with age and that states should instead 
improve their testing and licensing 
procedures for drivers of all ages. 
 
Although the attempts in this state have 
failed, some states have, or did at one 
time have, additional driver licensing 

requirements for older drivers. These 
requirements are as follow: 
 
California–This state requires vision and 
written tests for drivers over the age of 
70. 
 
Hawaii–A driver's license is valid for four 
years.  However, a two-year license is 
issued to any person age 72 and older. 
License renewal includes such physical 
examinations necessary to determine the 
applicant’s fitness to continue to operate 
a motor vehicle–usually just a vision test. 
 
Illinois–A driver’s license renewal 
includes a written test (at least every 
eight years), a vision test, and driving test 
for any person age 75 and older. A 
driver's license is normally valid for four 
years; however, persons age 81-86 are 
issued a license valid for two years and 
persons age 87 and older are issued a 
license valid for only a year. The fee for a 
two-year license is two dollars and no fee 
is charged for a one-year license. 
 
Indiana–This state is unique in that for 
nearly twenty years it required drivers 75 
and older to take a driving test every 
three years to renew their license.  Then, 
in December of 1998, that policy was 
suspended, because it was discovered 
that there was no rule or law in the state 
that required this testing.  
 
Iowa–A regular driver’s license is valid for 
four years. However, if a person is over 
age 70 the driver’s license is valid for only 
two years. All persons are required to 
pass a vision test to renew a license and 
other tests are optional on the part of the 
examiner. 
 
Louisiana–Persons sixty years of age or 
older applying for a first license must 
submit a doctor’s report about vision and 
physical condition. The state used to 
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require persons over seventy years of 
age to renew their license after two years, 
but that was recently lengthened to four 
years–the same for other ages. 
 
Maine–A driver’s license is valid for four 
years. Driver’s license renewal includes a 
color photo (optional if over 65 years of 
age) and a vision test (at renewal after 
ages 40 and 52 and at every renewal 
after age 65). 
 
Maryland–Any applicant over the age of 
70, upon applying for a new driver's 
license, must present proof of previous 
satisfactory operation of a motor vehicle 
and a written certification from a licensed 
physician attesting to general physical 
and mental qualifications of the applicant. 
 
New Hampshire–This state requires 
vision, written, and road tests for license 
renewal of drivers over the age of 75. 
 
New Mexico–A regular driver’s license is 
valid for four years. However, any person 
age 75 and older must renew his or her 
driver’s license annually. A driver’s 
license renewal includes a vision test and 
there is no cost for the renewal for those 
75 and older. 
 
Oregon–Drivers 50 years of age or older 
must pass a vision screening test every 8 
years. 
 
Pennsylvania–A regular driver’s license is 
valid for four years. However, any person 
over 65 years old must have his or her 
driver license renewed after two years. 
 
Other State Actions 
 
The driver licensing renewal procedures 
from three other states are worth 
mentioning. 
 

Florida, the state with the highest number 
of elderly drivers, allows persons who 
have not received a traffic violation within 
the last three years to renew their license 
by mail and do not have to renew their 
license in person for 12 years. Here is a 
state with the most elderly drivers and 
one of the most lax renewal processes in 
the country. 
 
The state of New York has recently 
implemented a driver’s license renewal 
process based on whether there are 
reasonable grounds to believe that a 
person holding a license is not qualified to 
operate a motor vehicle, not just age. 
Questionable drivers are identified by 
three criteria: Drivers who have had three 
accidents within a six-month period, 
drivers between ages 25 and 65 with 
three accidents within six to nine months, 
and drivers under age 25 and over age 
65 with three accidents within nine 
months.  Anyone who falls into one of 
these groups is required to take a written 
and skills test to determine qualification to 
continue to drive. 
 
In an effort to encourage the reporting of 
potentially unsafe drivers, Missouri has 
enacted a law that protects the 
confidentiality of doctors or close family 
members who report impaired or 
incompetent drivers to authorities. The 
law protects these people from possible 
lawsuits. 
 
Summary 
 
Driving is an important privilege to any 
elderly citizen attempting to maintain an 
independent life style. It is especially 
important, in rural states, since there is a 
lack of availability of public transportation 
for these citizens. As the elderly 
population continues to grow, the state 
will want to ensure the safety of its older 
drivers and those with whom they share 
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the road. While statistics show that in 
South Dakota older drivers have been 
underrepresented in motor vehicle 
accidents, this has not been the trend 
nationwide. Several states have placed 
stricter driver license requirements on 
older drivers despite arguments that such 
laws discriminate against older persons 

based on age. Similar attempts in South 
Dakota have been unsuccessful. A study 
being conducted by the state of Maryland 
in conjunction with NHSTA will hopefully 
gather information to help all states in the 
future to establish appropriate license 
renewal requirements to remove unsafe 
drivers from the road, regardless of age. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This issue memorandum was written by David L. Ortbahn, 

Principal Research Analyst for the Legislative Research Council.  It is 
designed to supply background information on the subject and is not 
a policy statement made by the Legislative Research Council. 
 


